Public invited to nominate NMPs

Forms are available at the Parliament House or through the Parliament website, the Clerk of Parliament said in a statement yesterday. Nominations close on May 20 at 4.30pm. Five of the current nine NMPs were previously uncertain if they would seek an extension and yesterday, at least two - Associate Professor Eugene Tan and Singapore Institute of International Affairs executive director Nicholas Fang - said they still had not reached a decision. "I will certainly give the matter serious consideration going forward. For now, my main goal is to finish strongly," said Prof Tan, a law don. Mr Teo Siong Seng, Mr Laurence Lien, Ms Janice Koh and Ms Mary Liew had earlier said they would not continue when their 21/2-year terms end in August.

Read More »