GE2020: WP’s Aljunied GRC Team Will Comprise Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim, Faisal Manap, Leon Perera and Gerald Giam

The Worker's Party (WP) has confirmed its five-member Aljunied GRC team contesting this election: Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim, Muhamad Faisal Manap, Leon Perera and Gerald Giam. This follows the announcement that Chen Show Mao, Png Eng Huat and former party chief Low Thia Kiang are not contesting in this election.

While Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim and Faisal Manap were from the last Aljunied GRC team, ex-NCMPs Leon Perera and Gerald Giam are replacing the outgoing Chen Show Mao and Low Thia Kiang. This makes for a strong blue team consisting of experienced members to retain the Aljunied stronghold. 

The WP has so far announced 9 candidates:

  • Yee Jenn Jong (ex-NCMP)
  • Nicole Seah Louis
  • Chua Kheng Wee
  • Muhammad Azhar Abdul Latip
  • Dennis Tan (ex-NCMP) – contesting in Hougang SMC
  • Dylan Ng
  • Ron Tan
  • Jamus Lim
  • Raeesah Begum Farid Khan 

Altogether, the WP will be fielding 21 candidates in 6 constituencies in the upcoming GE- 5 in Aljunied, East Coast and Marine Parade GRCs, 4 in the new Sengkang GRC, and 1 each in Hougang and Punggol West SMCs.

The WP will be announcing the rest of its candidates this weekend.

Check Also

Elderly With 1.5 Yrs to Live Asked his MP for Help, Only Given $200

Mr Rossi has depleted his life savings as CPF board does not allow any further withdrawal beyond the permitted limit. His wife is long-term bedridden and only son has lost his job during the Covid-19 period.