Dear A.S.S. Editor

With the sad passing of former Minister Othman Wok, there are now only two surviving members of the Cabinet team that signed the Independence of Singapore Agreement in 1965. This, of course, is a very historical and important piece of document, that led Singapore to where we are today. The two are former ministers Ong Pang Boon and Jek Yeun Thong

The Cabinet Ministers of yesteryear are men of great spirit and nationalism, doing their best to build Singapore to what we are today. The Ministers of today have a lot to learn from these men. Sadly, most of them are gone now. Now, not many people who know who the signatories of our independence are.

10 of the Cabinet Ministers of the day who signed the document were Mr Lee Kuan Yew, former deputy prime minister Toh Chin Chye, former finance minister Goh Keng Swee, former law minister E W Barker, former culture minister S Rajaratnam, former health minister Yong Nyuk Lin, former national development minister Lim Kim San, former social affairs minister Mr Othman Wok, former home affairs minister Ong pang Boon and former labour minister Jek Yeun Thong.

Once again, the Ministers of today have a lot to thank these pioneer batch. Most of them sacrificed a lot to be where they are. What did the current batch sacrifice? Salute to those who worked hard for an independent Singapore!

George E

A.S.S. Contributor

Check Also

Lawrence Wong Preparing For Next Decade, But What About Our Existing Problems?

Shouldn't the government solve our existing problems first? It would be best if we don't carry the issues of the current decade into the next!