On Wednesday morning, the PAP introduced its first batch of candidates for the upcoming General Elections in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC. The five man GRC consisting of Ng Eng Hen and Josephine Teo will be joined by Chee Hong Tat, Chong Kee Hiong and Saktiandi Supaat. Stepping down as MPs were lawyer Hri Kumar Nair, Singapore football chief Zainudin Nordin and former DPM Wong Kan Seng.

During the unveiling, Dr Ng Eng Hen said: “It reflects our message that this is what elections are about. This is as heartland as heartland goes. Toa Payoh is the oldest estate. We wanted to do (this unveiling) in the heartlands to put across the message that elections are about choosing MPs who can take care of your town.”

In GE2011, the PAP won 56.93% of the vote against the SPP team comprising of Chiam See Tong, Lee Yeong Wee, Wilfred Leung, Hamim Aliyas and Benjamin Pwee. For the upcoming elections, the SPP will send a joint team led by Lina Chiam and Benjamin Pwee.

Check Also

Experts: Gov ‘Extremely Intelligent’ in Handling Covid-19, We Just Have to Get Used to It

It's easy for ministers and experts to say as they are not the ones who pay the price!