The Electoral Boundaries Review Committee has released its report on the new electoral boundaries on 24 Jul 2015. This is a clear indication that the General Elections is around the corner.

The EBRC recommended that Singapore be carved up into 29 electoral divisions, comprising 13 Single Member Constituencies (SMCs) and 16 Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs). This is an increase of 1 SMC and 1 GRC since GE2011.

The sizes of the GRCs have also been altered. Five member GRCs reduced from 11 to 8 while four member GRCs increased from 2 to 6. Six member GRCs remained at 2.

With these changes, the total number of elected MPs will increase to 89, up from the current 87.

The new GRCs are Marsiling-Yew Tee (4 members) and Jalan Besar GRC.

Moulmein-Kallang GRC which includes Ministers Dr Yaacob Ibrahim and Mr Lui Tuck Yew, as well as MPs Denise Phua and Mr Edwin Tong has been dissolved. The dissolved GRC is now part of Holland-Bukit Timah, Bishan-Toa Payoh, Tanjong Pagar and Jalan Besar GRCs.

Check Also

Young Girl Shows No Remorse After Criticising Old People In Singapore

She changed her username due to the amount of negative reactions but continues to post videos like nothing happened.