The Land Transport Authority (LTA) on Monday (Aug 11) announced that three MRT stations – City Hall, Orchard and Raffles Place – will be the first to offer free WiFi service.

From Aug 22, 2014, commuters at the three stations’ platform level will be able to access the [email protected] service at the platform level. The service will be progressively rolled out to 16 MRT stations on the North-East Line as well as 12 stations with high commuter traffic over the next nine months, and is part of the Land Transport Masterplan 2013 initiative to provide better service on the public transport network, LTA said in its statement.

The 12 stations with high commuter usage are: Bishan; Buona Vista; Choa Chu Kang; City Hall; Dhoby Ghaut; Harbourfront; Jurong East; Orchard; Outram Park; Paya Lebar; Raffles Place; and Serangoon, LTA said.

“The introduction of [email protected] at the platforms of all North-East Line stations and 12 other stations with high commuter volume is aimed at enhancing wireless connectivity for commuters,” said LTA Chief Executive Chew Hock Yang.

“They can now check their emails, surf the Web, or connect to social media platforms on their phones and tablets more speedily while they wait for the train.”

Check Also

CNA Promise To Do Better After Getting National Flags Wrong In SEA Games Update

Singapore recently went up from 160th to 139th in the global press freedom index. But do they have the cheek to say that it is an improvement?