36 proposal forms submitted for NMP posts

A total of 36 proposal forms have been submitted for the nine Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) posts, the Office of the Clerk of Parliament said yesterday.

The names, which can come from the general public or from functional groups, will now go before a Special Select Committee, who will then recommend candidates for appointment to the President. Of the current NMPs, only two — Singapore Management University law don Eugene Tan and Jay Gee Melwani Group managing director R Dhinakaran — are seeking second terms.

When submissions closed on Tuesday, about a dozen names had been bandied about in the media as NMP hopefuls, including ex-national sailor Ben Tan and National Trades Union Congress leader K Karthikeyan. In 2011, 50 nominations were submitted.

Check Also

Experts: Gov ‘Extremely Intelligent’ in Handling Covid-19, We Just Have to Get Used to It

It's easy for ministers and experts to say as they are not the ones who pay the price!