WiFi connection trial to be conducted at 28 MRT stations

SINGAPORE – The Land Transport Authority (LTA) announced today that it will implement a WiFi connection trial at 28 MRT station platforms across Singapore.


The introduction of Wireless@SG at the platforms of all North East Line stations and 12 other stations with high commuter usage is aimed at enhancing wireless connectivity for commuters while they wait for the trains, the LTA said.

The 12 major stations shortlisted for the trial are: Jurong East, Raffles Place, City Hall, Dhoby Ghaut, Bishan, Serangoon, Buona Vista, Outram Park, Paya Lebar, Orchard, Choa Chu Kang and HarbourFront.

Tenders for the implementation of the Wireless@SG trial — which will allow users can enjoy download speeds of up to 2 Mbps — will be called today and the service will be progressively available from mid-2014.

LTA will monitor the trial for two years before deciding if the service will be extended to other MRT stations.


Filed Under: 



Your Views